Batch Workflow and Widget Settings

Moderator: jsachs

SFeinstein
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Panasonic ZS5

Batch Workflow and Widget Settings

Post by SFeinstein »

I am new to batch workflows and had a question about how widgets are applied to images. Specifically, when I work on images, I color balance (usually allowing PWP to auto pick) and then levels going to full range. Since not all images are the same, I don't want to set the actual values, but want PWP to pick the color balance.

I searched archive on this and found someone who asked the same exact question in 2008. The initial response from Kiril was:
In Levels and Color, use Full Range. This will expand each image to its full range.

The Color Balance applied will be exactly the balance you set. However, the balance setting should be the same for a series of images that you took under the same conditions. Thus you should apply the workflow to a batch of similar images and reset it between batches.

In 5.0, Color Balance will also have an adaptive mode.

So overall, from this response it sounds like setting levels to full range will be enough for levels. But that for color balance, this didn't work with v4, but that v5 would have an option to make it work. I looked at v7, but don't see the option.

So I am thinking screens have changed. So I am back to my original question about using a color balance widget that works on all images by having PWP auto select the color to fix.

I hope, this question makes sense :)

Thanks,

Steve
den
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Canon EOS-350D/Fuji X100T

Re: Batch Workflow and Widget Settings

Post by den »

Please describe your "starting" image file... ...is it a camera Raw file or has it already been converted to a tiff or jpeg?
SFeinstein

Post by SFeinstein »

My images are JPG.
den

Post by den »

Here are two possibilities...