Printing colorchecker?

Moderator: jsachs

JvdW
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Panasonic Lumix G5

Printing colorchecker?

Post by JvdW »

As an amateur nature photographer I don't see the need to invest in a colorchecker, but occasionally it can be usefull to have more accurate colors. So I was thinking; is it possible to print a usable colorchecker with a good inkjet printer and a spectrometer? I checked the colors of the Macbeth chart and they fit almost entirely inside the gamut of my printer. Of course this printed 'reference' will not be perfectly accurate, nor will it be reliable over long time and there will be metamerisme issues. But I recon a printed reference might be better then just eyballing and relying on my memory (and it is fun to make my own colorchecker).
So I made a first attempt to print a colorchecker. The main problem with a printed colorchecker is that on an amateur colormanaged system the patches on the print won't match the original. At least on my system they don't. They look good to the naked eye, and when measured the L values are quite good, but for most patches the a en b differ several units from the original (the spectrometer output is in Lab colorspace only). I found an old thread on this forum mentioning that the values for the reference charts are internaly coded, I suppose that hasn't changed. To be usable the printed colorchecker has to be as close as possible to the original.

Is it possible to use PWP to make a 'corrected' file of the colorchecker that will result in a more accurate print? Wat would be the best approach? I suppose the first step will be to convert the spectrometer Lab values to RGB values.
tomczak
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Fuji X-E2

Re: Printing colorchecker?

Post by tomczak »

Maciej Tomczak
Phototramp.com
jsachs

Post by jsachs »