Album widget and Free Form

Moderator: jsachs

tomczak
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Fuji X-E2

Album widget and Free Form

Post by tomczak »

I've never used Album before. I have a series of JPG scans of a book. I would like to produce a PDF with the JPGs as pages of one document.

So I created a workflow, that massages the JPGs and ends with Print/Create Album widget. I also have a PDF printer driver installed (I can pring to PDF).

When I set up the widget, there is a grayed Free Form button. Why is that? My hope was that I could print the JPG to PDFs without resampling the JPGs (which I think would happen when I specify the fixed pannel size). Is that true?

Also, I'm interested in printing one JPG per one PDF page, no margins. Is there an easy way of doing it in Album?

Many thanks for help!
Maciej Tomczak
Phototramp.com
ksinkel

Re: Album widget and Free Form

Post by ksinkel »

Let me divide your question into two parts; 1) How to create an album with many images automatically. 2) How to use the album widget.

1. Automatic creation of an album with multiple images.

You can create An album filled with any number of images automatically from the browser. Select the images you want to add to the album. Then click the Album button in the browser panel. A dialog which allows you to choose image panel size and other parameter is displayed. Choose the panel size, etc and click OK. An album with all the selected images is automatically created.

Panel size controls how many images are placed on a page. The album places as many panels as will fit on the chosen page size. In addition to the standard panel sizes, you can also create custom ones. Specifically, to print borderless prints, you need to create a borderless custom template. The template would have one panel that is the size of the paper you plan to use.

Note that you can add more images to the album by dragging them from a browser or workflow window or opening them from the file manager.