Updating Browse Info in bulk, across folders

Moderator: jsachs

Post Reply
tomczak
Posts: 1013
Joined: April 25th, 2009, 12:56 am
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Fuji X-E2
Contact:

Updating Browse Info in bulk, across folders

Post by tomczak »

Granted, my computer is not the fastest and my folders contain sometimes 1000+ images, so it takes long minutes to update the Browseinfo for the first time.

I wonder if there is a way of updating Browseinfo in several folders at once? This way I could let the computer do it at night, and save Browseinfo files in folders to make it faster next time I open the folder in Browse.

Cheers!
Maciej Tomczak
Phototramp.com

Dieter Mayr
Posts: 453
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 11:47 am
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Nikon D700
Location: Salzburg / Austria

Re: Updating Browse Info in bulk, across folders

Post by Dieter Mayr »

Maciej,

You can drag and drop folders from the browser to a workflow window, use shift click to select more then one folders.
When it displays the thumbnails the pwp.browseinfo file will be created.
So you could drag and drop a whole bunch of folders to the workflow window and have the browseinfo files created.
But I did not test out the limits, how many folders or pictures would be possible.
Depends probably mostly on the available memory from the computer.
Dieter Mayr

tomczak
Posts: 1013
Joined: April 25th, 2009, 12:56 am
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Fuji X-E2
Contact:

Re: Updating Browse Info in bulk, across folders

Post by tomczak »

Cheers, Dieter!

I'm just testing it now, and it seems that I can drop a folder of some 100 images and they get read in, but with bigger folders, nothing seems to happen when they are dropped onto Workflow window. I thought that maybe are read silently, but it's been an hour...
Maciej Tomczak
Phototramp.com

Dieter Mayr
Posts: 453
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 11:47 am
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Nikon D700
Location: Salzburg / Austria

Re: Updating Browse Info in bulk, across folders

Post by Dieter Mayr »

Maciej,

I use it sucessfully with folders with like 2000 to 4000 images.
Works well with 32 GB of RAM under the hood.
But I guess the amount of memory will be a limiting factor here, unfortunately.
Dieter Mayr

Dieter Mayr
Posts: 453
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 11:47 am
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Nikon D700
Location: Salzburg / Austria

Re: Updating Browse Info in bulk, across folders

Post by Dieter Mayr »

Maciej,

I just did a import of 33000 pictures to a workflow window
Took about 1 hour, but went without a problem.
I do have my files in a folder structure, main folder is Photos, under it subfolders year like 2016, under them folders per shooting day, so I have usually less the 1000 pictures per single folder.
I don't know if it makes a difference in importing if you have all the images in one folder or if they are spread over subfolders.
Dieter Mayr

tomczak
Posts: 1013
Joined: April 25th, 2009, 12:56 am
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Fuji X-E2
Contact:

Re: Updating Browse Info in bulk, across folders

Post by tomczak »

Dieter, many thanks!

My computer has 8Gb of RAM. It's Windows 7, 64bit, and it's PWP 7.0.19.

Some of my folders do what you describe, and some just do nothing when dropped onto Workflow window. It had nothing to do with the size of the folders either.

I think I've figured out what it is:

- if the folder being dropped, contains subfolders with images, those images in subfolders are being read fine
- if there are no subfolders present, just images in the folder, nothing happens

Could you confirm that I'm not dreaming, when you have a chance?

Cheers!
Maciej Tomczak
Phototramp.com

Dieter Mayr
Posts: 453
Joined: April 24th, 2009, 11:47 am
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Nikon D700
Location: Salzburg / Austria

Re: Updating Browse Info in bulk, across folders

Post by Dieter Mayr »

Maciej,

I don't see any difference here if a folder contains only images or subfolders with images, works in both cases.
I run Win 10-64 bit here, I did run Win 7-64 bit many years before and can't remember to have issues when copy - pasting folders to workflow.
Very misterious problem, could it be that you have any read / write permission problems with your folders ?
What does it do when you copy paste the folder from Windows Explorer ? This works fine for me, too, the same as from PWP-Browser.

Hope we can bring some light into this!
Dieter Mayr

ksinkel
Posts: 593
Joined: April 2nd, 2009, 11:58 am
Contact:

Re: Updating Browse Info in bulk, across folders

Post by ksinkel »

I see no difference between adding a folder with or without subfolders. All the images in the path are opened in the workflow in either case.

Kiril
Kiril Sinkel
Digital Light & Color

Post Reply