Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Please use this forum to post bug reports, feature requests, tips, etc. for beta versions of Picture Window Pro 8

Moderator: jsachs

Winfried
Posts: 222
Joined: June 18th, 2010, 4:27 pm
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Pentax K7

Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by Winfried »

It would be nice to have drag-and-drop functionality to the Batch-Transformation window, alike we had it in PWP7 workflows.
I would like to drag-and-drop images from other applications, i.e. MS-File-Explorer or my DAM-System (Imatch).
Winfried
-----
migrated to Windows 10 in Nov. 2019
PWP Pro 64
CUDA not available

jsachs
Posts: 3288
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 11:03 pm

Re: Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by jsachs »

I should be able to do that fairly easily.
Jonathan Sachs
Digital Light & Color

ilan700
Posts: 11
Joined: October 11th, 2019, 1:12 pm
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Pentax KP

Re: Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by ilan700 »

Dragging images from the Windows file explorer to the File Open transformation window works fine. Unfortunately dragging images from other applications does not add the images to the File Open transformation. I tried this on PWP 8.0 Beta 10-Oct-2019. The other applications I used are: IMatch and IrfanView.

Winfried
Posts: 222
Joined: June 18th, 2010, 4:27 pm
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Pentax K7

Re: Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by Winfried »

No problem with my system and Imatch. Didn't try Irfanview.
Maybe a problem with your Windows Version?
Winfried
-----
migrated to Windows 10 in Nov. 2019
PWP Pro 64
CUDA not available

ilan700
Posts: 11
Joined: October 11th, 2019, 1:12 pm
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Pentax KP

Re: Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by ilan700 »

I am using:
- Windows 10 Home edition
- IMatch 5.4.18 (old version)
- IrfanView version 4.5.1 32 bit

Both IrfanView and the old version of IMatch are 32-bit applications. Could this be the problem? Anyway I tried to download the 64-bit version of IrfanView and with this version "drag and drop" to PWP 8 works fine.

jsachs
Posts: 3288
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 11:03 pm

Re: Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by jsachs »

I did find some problems with drag and drop which might cause a problem if you are using a high resolution monitor.
Jonathan Sachs
Digital Light & Color

ilan700
Posts: 11
Joined: October 11th, 2019, 1:12 pm
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Pentax KP

Re: Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by ilan700 »

The monitor resolution is only 1920 x 1080. Could there be a problem with 32-bit applications?

jsachs
Posts: 3288
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 11:03 pm

Re: Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by jsachs »

I don't think 32-bits should make a difference, but I notice that FastStone which used to work doing drag and drop seems to have stopped working here. It may be a bug introduced by a recent Windows update. I don't think the problem is in PWP -- when it queries for the number of dropped files from some applications, it is getting a file count of zero. I downloaded the trial 64-bit version of IMatch and it worked OK.
Jonathan Sachs
Digital Light & Color

jsachs
Posts: 3288
Joined: January 22nd, 2009, 11:03 pm

Re: Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by jsachs »

I was wrong -- this is a known bug in Windows when dropping files from a 32-bit to a 64-bit application. There is apparently a work-around but it is a little complicated.
Jonathan Sachs
Digital Light & Color

ilan700
Posts: 11
Joined: October 11th, 2019, 1:12 pm
What is the make/model of your primary camera?: Pentax KP

Re: Drag- and- drop for Batch Transformation - enhancement request

Post by ilan700 »

Thanks, I will upgrade to the 64-bit versions.

Locked